The time I presented at a brewing science conference in Weihenstephan

I was kindly invited by TUM Weihenstephan Chair Brewing & Beverage Technology to give an oral presentation at the annual scientific meeting. Since this event felt like a fairly important milestone in my brewing scientist/PhD journey, it seems apt to document my experience. This post was inspired by my friend Andreas’ recent post about his experience at a homebrew convention. Without much hesitation, my co-presenter (Dr.-Ing. Nils Rettberg) and I accepted the invitation and I travelled to the Technologisches Seminar Weihenstephan (TSW) 2024 from 18-20th March in Freising, Bavaria.

Technologisches Seminar Weihenstephan 2024
Technologisches Seminar Weihenstephan 2024

The 3-day seminar was held at the International Centre for Beverage Science in Weihenstephan, consisting of both a raw materials day (malted and unmalted barley) and two days of brewing and beverage technology. The structure of the seminar involved 30-minute scientific presentations (in German) and there was also an podium discussion on the Berliner Programm barley variety evaluation scheme. My presentation wasn’t until the afternoon session of the final day, so I had plenty of time to enjoy the other talks and chat to the other participants in between sessions.

International Centre for Beverage Science in Weihenstephan
International Centre for Beverage Science in Weihenstephan

Overall, the academic standard of the presentations was incredibly high. Topics ranged from alcohol free beer quality to AI application in the brewery. Presentations were mainly held by TUM Weihenstephan scientists and some external speakers from the German brewing industry, me belonging to the latter. The title of my presentation was “Beitrag der Thioloxidation zur Veränderung der sensorischen Eigenschaften hopfenbetonter Biere” (The contribution of thiol oxidation to sensory changes in hoppy beers).

Conference schedule TSW 2024
Conference schedule TSW 2024

Even though I held a similar presentation last year at the VLB Berlin annual meeting, I was still feeling quite nervous beforehand. Once I found my flow, I felt quite comfortable during my presentation and really enjoyed the experience. I presented to approximately 100 people, including the CTO of the Augustiner-Bräu Wagner KG (Werner Mayer) and the CEO of the Bavarian Brewers Association (Walter König). It felt quite ironic that I was speaking about New England IPA, fruity thiol aromas and craft beer to some of the most conservative figures in German brewing industry. However, my general impression is that the audience was quite interested in my research, both during the Q&A session and after my slot. Sometimes it can feel rather confusing/lonely working on an abstract scientific subject without any external input, but this experience was incredibly rewarding and reassuring.

Weihenstephan Abbey
Weihenstephan Abbey

Some other highlights from the TSW 2024 included the networking events, which included several lunches/dinners in the Bräustüberl at the Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan. The veggie/vegan options were suprisingly varied and the beers (I mostly drank the Pils and the Weißbier) were excellent. There were also some interesting beers available at the conference itself, including 4 draught beers brewed on the TUM Weihenstephan pilot kit (8 hL Steinecker brew kit). These were poured between the sessions and included a Helles, Pils, Stout and a Belgian-style alcohol free beer. The latter was outstanding and demonstrated an intense peppery/phenolic aroma.

The Stephanskeller in the Bräustüberl of the Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan
The Stephanskeller in the Bräustüberl of the Bayerische Staatsbrauerei Weihenstephan

It just so happened that the Catholic holiday St. Joseph’s Day (Josefstag) was during the conference. So of course this meant that a beer was brewed to mark the occasion. The Josephi Bockbier was brewed at the TUM Weihenstephan and clocked in at 7.0% ABV (16.1°P). There was a speech from Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Becker, a ceremonial tapping of the barrel (o’zapft is!) and accompanying Blasmusik from the band. A VLB colleague also present at the event, who is not so familiar with traditional Bavarian festivities, said it felt like we had entered a cult.

A 20 L wooden barrel of TUM Weihenstephan Josephi Bock
A 20 L wooden barrel of TUM Weihenstephan Josephi Bock

Overall, attending and presenting at the TSW 2024 was an unforgetable experience. Not only did I have the opportunity to present my PhD research at one of the most globally renowned centres for brewing research and education, I gained some valuable insight into the exciting, current topics in brewing.

Disclaimer: TUM Weihenstephan Chair Brewing & Beverage Technology covered my expenses, including travel, accommodation and conference fees.

Leave a comment